The Minister for Local Government, Rishi Sunak MP, has appointed Robin Evans as the new Chair of the Board of the Valuation Tribunal Service and Suzanne McCarthy as the new Deputy Chair.  Robin and Suzanne have both been appointed for a term of three years from 1 April 2018 to 31 March 2021.

Robin EvansPrior to his appointment as Chair, Robin had been a member of the VTS Board since 2014 and Acting Chair of the VTS Audit & Risk Assurance Committee.  He is Vice-President of the University of Reading Council, chairing its Property and Investment Committee and is also a member of the New Covent Garden Disengagement Board.   Robin is a former Trustee of Volunteer England and was the Chief Executive of the Canal & River Trust (previously British Waterways) from 2002 to 2013. Prior to that he had been a Director of Historic Royal Palaces and Chief Executive of the Landmark Trust.

Suzanne McCarthySuzanne is the Chair of the Joint Audit Panel of the Mayor’s Office of Policing and Crime and the Metropolitan Police Service, Chair of Depaul UK, a charity concerned with youth homelessness, and Chair of the Southwark and Lambeth Integrated Partnership. She is a member of the Advertising Standards Authority, the Fundraising Regulator and chairs its Standards Committee and the Architects Registration Board.  She is also the Independent Appointed Person for the Greater London Authority.  Before entering the public sector, Suzanne worked as a solicitor in private practice and was a Lecturer in Law at the University of Manchester.  During her central Whitehall career she worked at HM Treasury and served as Private Secretary to two Home Secretaries.